In Memory

I had every intention of sitting down at my desk and writing about my recent training and mileage accomplishment.  Instead I sit here holding back tears as I think about a friend of mine who lost his battle with cancer yesterday.  Let me tell you about him.

His name was Keith Labriola.  I first met him about ten years ago at church.  He was helping build sets for a Christmas production.  He was this big, towering man with a great smile and huge heart.  Keith was very active in mission trips, lending  his construction skills to numerous projects.  He also helped a ministry we had going for a few years that helped out single moms, like myself, with oil changes.  I remember one year in particular I was standing with another friend of mine while the guys worked on my car.  He saw me, came jogging over and lifted me up in a great big bear hug.  He was always so warm and friendly!  Anytime I posted a prayer request or sent one via email he would respond with words of encouragement.

A number of years ago Keith lost his wife to cancer.  Because of this he hadn’t been around church for awhile, it was hard for him which is understandable.  Recently, however, he did visit and it was so good to see him!  I knew he’d been going through something and I was hoping he’d come around again with his new love (and I apologize, I can’t recall her name).  I thought it would have been nice to get to know her as well as reconnect with Keith.

It’s amazing how much one person can affect another’s life.  Keith was one of the people at church who made me feel at home when I first started attending services.  When I think of how many people he most certainly touched over the years with his servant’s heart I can’t help but imagine the size of the room needed in Heaven for the welcoming committee!

Whether I had much of an impact on his life I don’t know, but he did on mine, even if just for a little while.  I will remember him as a gentle, caring soul who was always ready with a smile and a hug whenever I saw him.   He was such a blessing.

To Keith’s family – my heart goes out to you.  My tears are a mixture of sadness at knowing he is gone from this world and joy at knowing he is finally in his true Home.

We’ll see you again Keith

Leave a comment